Unkown Blogger Pursues a Deranged Quest for Normalcy

  • Logo

    ubpdqn
  • Unknown Blogger

  • August 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

  • Blog Stats

    • 10,531 hits

Cold cruel world

Posted by ubpdqn on August 18, 2011

I recently attended an annual national scientific meeting. International experts gave beautifully crafted presentations. Local experts seemed equally adept. The young, intelligent and enthusiastic researchers had the opportunity to present their work. They got to ‘network’. I was one among the majority of commoners. It was both a privilege and a stark reminder of “what might have been”. The latter is a perception not a reality. For even if I had sufficient capacity as an individual, the elements of personality, passion, resources, and support would still be wanting.

These mixed feelings seem to recur with me. I was impressed by much I saw and heard. I did learn things that I could apply to improve my everyday. My personal failures. however real and painful, should be motivation. This motivation should not be for the unrealistic goal of achieving the level of academic success that surrounded me. The motivation should be to improve my own understanding and approaches to my local scope. The joy of understanding…something that is at the core of the blog, even understanding in little, even trivial things.

Peace to all…

Leave a Reply

 
